Applications Open For Two Lesbian-Themed Writing Scholarships

LesbianPhoto: Sam Manns / Unsplash

The Bridge-Builder Scholarship and Sandra Moran Scholarship

The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) is now accepting applications for two of its annual scholarships, the Bridge-Builder Scholarship, and the Sandra Moran Scholarship, which cover tuition to the organization’s Writing Academy program.

The GCLS Writing Academy is a year-long intensive program for new or relatively new writers who have written at least part of a novel. In this course, students will learn the critical components of quality writing. The Writing Academy goes beyond the craft of writing and takes students through all aspects of writing and publishing a novel.

The GCLS is the nation’s only literary organization whose mission is the education, promotion, and recognition of lesbian-themed literature.

The Bridge-Builder Scholarship is offered to a young (age 18-30) woman writer of color who shows talent and drive in creating lesbian-themed literature. The writer should be interested in working on a full-length novel or a collection of short stories. One recipient will receive full tuition to the 2019 GCLS Writing Academy and one-on-one mentoring with a well-established lesbian fiction writer, with an estimated value of $995.

Bridge-Builder Scholarship Application Requirements and Deadline:
Application deadline for the Bridge-Builder Scholarship is May 1, 2019. Candidates must also submit a 10-page sample of their best work. Apply at

Winners will be chosen by June 15, 2019. Classes begin in September of 2019, with a summer reading list assignment.

The Sandra Moran Scholarship is awarded to one GCLS Writing Academy student each year. One qualified recipient will receive full tuition to the GCLS Writing Academy, with an estimated value of $995. Applicants for the Sandra Moran Scholarship must submit an application to the Writing Academy and be accepted into the program first. The scholarship recipient will be expected to complete the program, as well as give back to the literary community.

Sandra Moran Scholarship Application Requirements and Deadline:
Step 1: Apply for the Writing Academy at  Applications for the Writing Academy are open year-round. All applications are reviewed by the education team upon receipt of application. Any individuals chosen for the Writing Academy are notified directly.

Step 2: Upon acceptance to the Writing Academy, individuals are encouraged to apply for the Sandra Moran Scholarship at A 20-25-page writing sample must be included with the application.

The application deadline for the Sandra Moran Scholarship is April 1, 2019. All applications will be reviewed by the Sandra Moran Scholarship Committee. Following this review, applicants will be narrowed to no more than three finalists. Finalist applications and writing samples will then be reviewed by a guest juror who will provide feedback and rate the applications. The scholarship recipient will be selected based on the combined feedback of the guest juror and the scholarship committee. One scholarship recipient will be notified in June and formally announced at the Annual Conference during the Membership Meeting in Pittsburgh.

Any questions regarding scholarships or the GCLS Writing Academy should be directed to Beth Burnett, the GCLS Director of Education at


About the Golden Crown Literary Society

The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS), a 501(c)3 non-profit founded in 2004 and is the leading lesbian-themed literary organization bringing authors, readers, and publishers together while creating a diverse and inclusive community. The organization’s mission is to increase the visibility and integrity of lesbian-themed literature, through its writing academy and educational programs, its annual conference, and its national and internationally recognized Goldie Awards. The GCLS embraces all who write literature of women loving women.

[From a News Release]

banner ad